Paytm account delete: How to permanently delete Paytm account

It's quite easy to delete a Paytm account!

Main Image
  • Like
  • Comment
  • Share

Paytm has been one of the great tools when it comes to digital transactions. After the currency demonetisation in India, Paytm has been one of the key players in India’s digital economy ecosystem. The Paytm super app allows one to transfer money between accounts, do cellphone recharges, bill payments, movie and travel reservations, fastag recharge, etc. In recent times, Paytm has been in the news for customer data security. In 2022, there was one such report which Paytm categorically quashed.

Still, if you are not sure about your data with Paytm, and wish to exit paytm, you can permanently delete your Paytm account. The below-mentioned procedure will instruct you on how to remove linked bank details, deactivate Paytm UPI, and delete the Paytm account. Let’s dive into detail.

How to delete linked bank accounts from Paytm for Android or iPhone devices

  1. Launch the Paytm app on your Android or iPhone
  2. In the upper left corner, press the menu button.
  3. Choose ‘UPI & Payment Settings’ from this point.
  4. Now, select the bank account you wish to delete and tap “Remove Account.”
  5. Finally, confirm your action by selecting “Yes, Remove Bank” for Android or “Confirm” on iPhone.
  6. After that, the bank account will be deleted, and you won’t be able to use non-wallet payments any longer.

ALSO READ: PhonePe with Aadhaar: How to activate PhonePe UPI using an Aadhaar card

How to deactivate Paytm UPI on Android or iPhone devices

  1. Launch the Paytm app on your smartphone.
  2. Now select the “To Bank A/c” option from the app’s main home screen.
  3. Choose “Settings” in the top right corner from here.
  4. Return to the upper right corner and choose the “3-dot” menu there.
  5. Finally, click “Disable UPI.”
  6. Your UPI will be deactivated/deregistered once you click “Ok” for final confirmation.

ALSO READ: How to link your Aadhaar Card with Mobile Number Online

How to permanently delete a Paytm account on Android or iPhone devices

  1. Open the Paytm application on your smartphone.
  2. Then click the top left corner of the app to access the menu.
  3. Choose “Help & Support” from this point on, then “Profile Settings.” If you are unable to locate that option, move the cursor down the page.
  4. Select the “Chat with us” option now.
  5. You’ll be taken to an automated personal assistant with a variety of alternatives. Select “I want to close/delete my account” as soon as you can.
  6. You will be required to read through important governmental regulations. Simply select “Yes” to move forward. Additionally, it can need paperwork, such as a photo of a canceled check.
  7. When you do this, your request to close your account will be processed, and the account will be completely removed within a few days.

ALSO READ: Delete Twitter Account: Here’s how to Delete Twitter Account permanently or temporarily

How to delete a Paytm business account

Paytm offers a dedicated app named “Paytm for Business” to enterprises and retailers as a means of serving their needs. Through this solution, business owners are able to easily manage their transactions with the use of cutting-edge features. Though, if you want to delete your Paytm business account, here’s how to do it.

  1. On your smartphone, launch the “Paytm for Business” app.
  2. From the upper left corner, select “Profile.”
  3. ‘Business Profile’ is an option that you can access by scrolling down.
  4. Then choose “Deactivate My Account.”
  5. Your Paytm business account will be closed in a few days if you follow the instructions as described.

How to remove KYC details from a Paytm account

The growing concern over data privacy is legitimate, and some people may not like the idea of their KYC information staying with Paytm even after deleting their account. So, if you too want to remove your KYC details from Paytm, Simply ask a customer care representative to remove the KYC information and explain valid reasons. You can email your concern to the official customer support at care@paytm.com. Also, you can call the customer service number i.e. 0120-4456-456.

FAQs

How long does it take to delete a Paytm account?

Paytm typically needs two to three working days to fully deactivate an account.

How will you know if my Paytm account is deleted?

After the procedure is finished, users may receive an official notification of their request to delete their Paytm account via email or SMS.

How to block a Paytm account?

When interacting with the virtual assistant found in the app’s “Profile” section, users have the option to “Block Paytm.”

Can you recover a Paytm account that has been deleted?

Simply, No. Since the mobile number and password are erased from the systems and are no longer valid, therefore a Paytm account that has been canceled cannot be recovered. To use Paytm again, users must register a new account from scratch.

Sachin Deo VermaSachin Deo Verma
Sachin covers technology news at Smartprix and he also has a keen interest in automobile and electric vehicles. He keenly gains knowledge from various sources to be updated with the latest tech trends. He is also a passionate Potterhead who dabbles in literature, and poetry, and loves to travel.

Related Articles

ImageHot Scoop: Samsung Galaxy Z Flip 6 Pricing Revealed Ahead of Official Release

Samsung’s next clamshell foldable, the Galaxy Z Flip6, will launch next month at Galaxy Unpacked. While everyone awaits the official announcement, we’ve managed to uncover the Galaxy Z Flip6’s pricing and variants for the US market in association with OnLeaks. Brace yourselves—unfortunately, the pricing is higher than expected. Galaxy Z Flip6 Price Leaked  The Galaxy …

ImagePaytm is testing out surcharge on mobile recharges

If you use Paytm for making mobile recharges, you don’t have much time before the app imposes a surcharge on each recharge you do on the platform. Paytm has started to impose a surcharge between INR 1 to 6 on each recharge based on the amount. In fact, it is applicable to any mode of …

ImagePaytm Payment Protect will save you from fraudulent transactions

Paytm, to stay relevant in the industry has launched a new feature in India dubbed Paytm protect. The latest service of the brand serves as a group insurance plan that provides a safety net against fraudulent transactions that take place online. A major highlight regarding Paytm Protect is that it only costs Rs 30 per …

ImageHow To Delete Google Accounts Permanently?

If you own and use a single Google account, you could be from a minute subset of users to do so as everyone else has at least two accounts of Google. It is all great unless you are fed up managing multiple accounts be it from the notifications or spam or anything in between. Fortunately, …

ImageGoogle will start deleting millions of inactive Gmail accounts next month

Beware if you haven’t been using any of your Gmail accounts for a while so it will be deleted permanently in a few weeks. Previously, Google announced it would be purging all unused accounts and the content associated with them if the users haven’t logged in or used relevant services for the last two years …

Discuss

Be the first to leave a comment.