WhatsApp is reimagining the privacy features of the app from the ground up as new features are being announced every other week. The latest WhatsApp feature that been announced recently is about Group invites that will safeguard from spam additions. This means that post the rollout of this update, the users will decide whether they want to join a group or not.
Whatsapp Group Invite feature: How does it Work?
You would receive the WhatsApp group invite through a private chat and then you could either accept or decline the invite within three days. After this duration, the invitation link will expire. The invite will include details like the group name, its description, and the name of group members.
You could enable the feature by following these steps:
- Head to the Settings menu in WhatsApp
- Tap Account > Privacy > Groups.
- There are three options to choose from: “Nobody,” “My Contacts,” or “Everyone.”
- If you select “Nobody”, then you would receive the invitation waiting for your acceptance.
- Needless to say, with the “My Contacts” option, only contacts in your address book can add you to their groups.
- Finally, if you decide to leave the option, “Everyone” ticked, then you could be added to any group like it was prior to this feature update.
So, moving forward, you would be part of only those groups of which you want to be part of. The update is currently being rolled out in phases. So, you could expect your device to receive the same in the coming days.