T18 train

Vande Bharat Express aka Train 18 began its commercial run after being flagged off by honorable PM Narendra Modi on February 15, 2019. The train is entirely developed indigenously developed under the “Make in India” program. In fact, it is the first Semi High-Speed Train that will run at 160kmph speeds. The voyage would be between Delhi and Varanasi with stoppages at Kanpur Central and Allahabad Junction.

Vande Bharat Express: What’s So Special About It?

The Semi-high speed train is said to cover the stretch of 755KM in just 8 hours while the rest take around 12 hours at present. Indian Railway has assigned the Vande Bharat Express number 22436 and 22435 for to and foe trains.

Interestingly enough, formally known as Train 18 was built in 18 months against the world standard of 36 months by Integral Coach Factory, Chennai. It is touted as India’s first engineless and self-propelled train adds to its specialty.

It is also capable of touching a top speed of 200-210 KMPH. Yet another highlight! But during trials, it was run at a maximum speed of 180 KMPH.

It has a total of 16 coaches with seats for 1,100 people. Speaking of accommodation, the train offers a state of the art interior that meets global standards. The passengers even get a glass-bottom luggage rack in every coach. The train has ‘Executive Class’ and ‘Chair Car’ where former Coches offer more luxurious amenities.

Delhi-Varanasi Vande Bharat Express (Train 18) Complete Fares List

From Delhi to Varanasi, the Vande Bharat Express ticket for air-conditioned chair car will cost Rs 1760 and the fare for the executive class will be Rs 3310. On the return journey, chair car will cost Rs 1700 and the executive class will cost Rs 3260. Here’s the  Complete fares list from New Delhi, Varanasi, Allahabad, and Kanpur.

Vande Bharat Express Ticket Price List Fare Details

Journey Executive Chair Car* AC Chair Car*
New Delhi to Varanasi Rs. 3310 Rs. 1760
Varanasi to New Delhi Rs. 3260 Rs. 1700
New Delhi to Prayagraj (Allahabad) Rs. 2725 Rs. 1385
Prayagraj (Allahabad) to New Delhi Rs. 2915 Rs. 1550
New Delhi to Kanpur Rs. 2085 Rs. 1080
Kanpur to New Delhi Rs. 2190 Rs. 1195
Kanpur to Prayagraj (Allahabad) Rs. 1170 Rs. 595
Prayagraj (Allahabad) to Kanpur Rs. 1260 Rs. 645
Kanpur to Varanasi Rs. 1845 Rs. 1030
Varanasi to Kanpur Rs. 1690 Rs. 860
Prayagraj (Allahabad) to Varanasi Rs. 1190 Rs. 700
Varanasi to Prayagraj (Allahabad) Rs. 1050 Rs. 545

*fare prices subject to change | Source: www.irctc.co.in

Vande Bharat Train Time Table Schedule

As per IRCTC, the Vande Bharat Train will commence its journey from New Delhi at 6 AM from New Delhi station and will reach Varanasi at 2 PM. In between, it will halt at 10:20 AM in Kanpur for 2 minutes and at Allahabad (Prayagraj) at 12:25 PM for 2 minutes.

ALSO READ: Updated Hindi Channel Price List For DTH and Cable Subscribers After New TRAI Rule

And in the evening, the return journey departs at 3 PM to reach Delhi at 11 PM. Again, it will halt at Allahabad (Prayagraj) and Kanpur at 4:35 PM and 6:30 PM respectively for 2 minutes each.

The Vande Bharat Train will run five days a week, except on Monday and Thursday.

ALSO READ: How to add your Aadhar Card and Driving License to DigiLocker?

How To Book Vande Bharat Train Ticket Online

Now that you know the features, fare, schedule details, let’s get to know how to book tickets of the Vande Bharat Express (Train 18). You could either book tickets via Indian Railways stations and counters or through the IRCTC web portal and Rail Connect app. This is how you can book Vande Bharat Express tickets from IRCTC website:

1. Go to IRCTC e-ticketing website at irctc.co.in and login to your existing account. If you are not an existing user, you can register yourself following easy steps.

2. Enter your trip origin and destination details in ‘From’ and ‘To’ stations in ‘Book your ticket’ section.

3. Select the date of travel from February 17 onwards, excluding Mondays and Thursdays

4. Choose Vande Bharat Express.

5. Select either AC Chair car or Executive in the type.

6. Next, fill in the passenger details and review them

7. Finally, make the payment and Voila, now you can travel.

Bon Voyage!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here