Ever wondered if there was an option to unsent a message mistakenly sent? Well, now you can with the latest update to the Facebook application. The feature is also available on the Desktop website as well.

ALSO READ: Samsung Patents S Pen With A Camera And Optical Zoom

Facebook has a timer function within “Secret conversations” by which the messages will self destruct after a specified amount of time. Now, the new update expands the purview of this feature. So, let’s uncover the details.

How Does It Work?

Source: Facebook

Like its sister application Whatsapp, Facebook messages could be deleted with a “Remove for Everyone” option. You just have to tap on the message you want to remove and select the option. An alert message would replace the removed message informing everyone in the conversation that the message was removed. Notably, you will have up to 10 minutes to act fast on the accidental messages.

There is still a “Remove for You” option to remove a message just for yourself.  Needless to say, the message will be removed for you, not for anybody else in the conversation.

ALSO READ: Google’s Instant Tethering now available on more devices

Interestingly the company’s top execs had early access evident from the mysterious deletion of Facebook Messages sent by them. Or at least they could’ve been testing it out for quite some time.

Last year, Tech Crunch had reported on this feature. Though the Social Media Mammoth rebutted Tech Crunch’s claim, It had to eventually reveal the plans on this forthcoming feature.

We will now be making a broader delete message feature available. This may take some time and until this feature is ready, we will no longer be deleting any executives’ messages. We should have done this sooner – and we’re sorry that we did not – Facebook

 

Are you looking forward to this feature? Let us know your view on the implications of Unsend option which is open for public.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here