Facebook-owned messaging platform WhatsApp keeps introducing new features every now and then to make the messenger an even better experience for the users. WhatsApp has now confirmed that it will allow the senders to delete messages up to two days after they are sent.
WhatsApp took to Twitter to announce this new feature. The tweet read- “Rethinking your message? Now you will have a little over two days to delete your messages from your chats after you hit send.”
To be exact, WhatsApp will allow users to delete a message up to two days and 12 hours after sending it. Earlier the limit was only 1 hour 8 minutes and 16 seconds. Users have the option of deleting a message only for themselves or for all the recipients. This can be done by selecting the “Delete messages for everyone” option. Here are the steps to delete messages on WhatsApp-
- Go to the chat that contains the message you want to delete on WhatsApp.
- One can delete a message by tapping and holding it. To delete multiple messages at once, choose more messages.
- Choose between selecting Delete for me or Delete for everyone by tapping on Delete here.
However, there are some things that need to be kept in mind before you delete a message. These are-
- You as well as the recipients must have the newest version of WhatsApp for messages to be successfully deleted for everyone.
- If the deletion fails, the recipient will still be able to view your message.
- If deleting for everyone fails, you won’t be informed.
- Even after the message is deleted from the chat, recipients using WhatsApp for ios may still have the media you sent saved to their photos.
Upcoming Features in WhatsApp
- WhatsApp will soon release a feature that will allow group admins the ability to delete messages for everyone.
- It will also let users edit their text messages for a future update of the app.
- Status reaction functionality has been rolled out to some iPhone beta users. Users can respond to WhatsApp status updates with one of 8 different emojis.